The Tech Partnership

Our apprentices consistently go above and beyond what you would expect of an employee within an organisation

Catherine Irvine, Operations Manager – Security Operations Centre, Fujitsu

Apprenticeship standards

Information for employers and training providers

Over the last three years, employers from over 200 organisations have been working together to develop a suite of new digital apprenticeship standards, under the Trailblazer initiative, to cover all major entry level roles into tech and digital careers. These new standards approved by the Department for Education (DfE), give employers confidence that their apprentice will develop the skills they need to make real contribution to their company.

Significant demand is expected for these apprentices, as more and more employers recognise the benefits of recruiting new talent through this route. The new standards are replacing the previous arrangements in England. Different provisions are in place for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

See below for a list of the new standards, currently available, or soon to become available, and follow the links for more information, including copies of the standard description, assessment plan and occupational brief.



Future Plans

  • Cyber Intrusion Analyst (Level 4)
  • Cyber Security Technologist (Level 4)
  • Data Analyst (Level 4)
  • Digital & Technology Solutions Professional (Level 6)
  • Digital Marketer (Level 3)
  • Infrastructure Technician (Level 3)
  • IS Business Analyst (Level 4) new! 
  • IT Technical Salesperson (Level 3)
  • Network Engineer (Level 4)
  • Software Developer (Level 4)
  • Software Development Technician (Level 3)
  • Software Tester (Level 4)
  • Unified Communications Technician (Level 3)
  • Unified Communications Trouble-shooter (Level 4)

    View details and documentation
  • Digital Administrator (Level 3)
  • Digital Contact Centre Operator (Level 3)
  • IT Solutions Technician (Level 3)
  • Network Cabling Operator (Level 3)
  • BSc Cyber Security Technical Professional (Level 6)
  • BSc Digital User Experience (UX) Professional (Level 6)
  • MSc Digital & Technology Professional Specialist (Level 7

     Find out more
  • New standards: Published by DfE

    New standards: Published by DfE

    The following new apprenticeship standards have been approved by BIS. Find out more about the learning outcomes, assessment plans and how to get started.

    Read more
  • Plans for the future

    Plans for the future

    BIS has now also given approval for the Digital Industries Trailblazer Steering Group to develop some additional standards over the next year or so.

    Read more